Chatting to M.L. Stedman, author of ‘The Light Between Oceans’

At London Book Fair last month, I was invited to the launch of M.L. Stedman’s stunning debut novel The Light Between Oceans. Armed with a glass of bubbly and masses of admiration, I was delighted to chat to the author – Margot – about the novel. She was absolutely lovely. I may have gushed a little too much. Here’s the resulting feature interview for http://www.writing.ie

Link

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Peter Legge
    Jul 31, 2012 @ 23:00:19

    My wife and I have just finished The Light Between Oceans. We thought it was brilliant in concept clever in detail, easy to read and flows well with some top quality expression. 5star by us. Well done and write some more please Margot. Look us up if ever in Melbourne.

    Reply

  2. Blaise Graham
    Aug 07, 2012 @ 06:52:31

    I have just finished The Light Between Oceans, it caused such a strong emotional response in me as a reader, I can even admit to a few tears. Even though the set up was maybe a little coincidental for my liking, the descriptive language and vivid recall of the wild southern ocean and its surviving islands, gripped at my homesick heart. The moral hardship that Tom’s character endured as well as the way supporting character’s reacted expressed exceptionally well.

    Reply

  3. Candy White
    Aug 07, 2012 @ 21:50:54

    I just finished The Light Between Oceans and I cried so hard at the end, when my husband comes home tonight he’s going to think something awful has happened. This book was spellbinding and so beautifully told, the characters took on a real life to me as I read. I’m looking forward to more work by this wonderful author, but I hope the next book has a happy ending!

    Reply

  4. CLAIRE SCIARAPPA
    Aug 18, 2012 @ 22:59:40

    ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS I’VE READ IN A LONG TIME. BEAUTIFULLY WRITTEN—CAN’T WAIT FOR YOUR NEXT ONE.

    CLAIRE SCIARAPPA

    Reply

  5. Stephanie Zinger
    Sep 26, 2012 @ 17:11:01

    Read it and loved it. Not only was the story interesting but the writing was exceptional. Can’t wait for her second effort.

    Reply

  6. Kathy Mignerey, Florida, USA
    Apr 29, 2016 @ 18:13:00

    I knew nothing of the plot when I started reading “The Light Between Oceans”, that a friend had given to me. Based on the back cover, I was not sure I would enjoy the book. Enjoyment is not always the goal. The complex issues were so well conveyed, that I could always understand the right of both sides of every decision made. So many decisions of life will cause heart-ache for someone and it is often only in retrospect that we might know the best course of action to take. The lingering effect of reading this fine book is that it will help me take longer to consider potential impacts of major decisions I make in the future. I have heard this book is being made into a movie and I can’t wait to take my box of kleenex when I go see it. A special kudos for this being M.L. Stedman’s first book. It was beautifully written.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

